01/09/2017

We give the villa five stars for being clean and neat on arrival and value for money. The property lived up to our expectations with good service from arrival to departure The villa was great (enormous) and only 10 minutes from the centre of Bedar. A wonderful peaceful location. We particularly appreciated the poolside frig We recommend this area and hope to visit again Bruce W - 07/17

01/09/2017

Mike's Villa We travelled to Bedar with our two teenage children for a traditional family holiday. The villa is well laid out, very spacious, spotlessly clean and fully equipped with absolutely everything you need. Stunning views of the local area and within walking distance of the very quaint village. Bedar has three lovely restaurants serving excellent cuisine as well as a bank, supermarket, bakery and chemist. An excellent choice for a relaxing break but within a short drive to the lively coastline of Mojacar and surrounding area. The meet and greet service was well received and our hosts were on call for any questions we had plus a wealth of local information and advice. A peaceful and relaxing holiday with every requirement fulfilled! Wendy S 08/17

01/09/2017

We have just spent two glorious weeks in Mike's villa. Fantastic views overlooking Bedar and surrounding countryside. The village has restaurants, bars, pharmacy and bank and the people are very friendly and welcoming. The view from the villa balcony at night with the village lit up is just stunning. The villa is extremely well equipped, especially the kitchen, with top of the range appliances, better than at home! All the bedrooms are large with very comfortable beds most are en-suite. Lots of outside space, the pool was a very good size and a welcome relief on very hot days, with poolhouse, shower and w.c. There were eight adults in our party and we could still manage to find a quiet corner away from it all. Big thanks to Stuart and Natasha who were always on hand if there was a problem. We would not hesitate to come back it was truly a lovely two weeks. Andrew C 08/17

25/07/2017

THE HOUSE AT BEDAR Dear Mike and Frances, After having enjoyed our stay in June at your home in Spain, we feel that we should share our experience with your prospective visitors and would want to say that we found the house very much ‘a home from home and more’. Unlike many ‘holiday villas’ your house offered all the comforts of a permanent family home. We particularly appreciated the exquisitely comfortable beds, air conditioning, high quality en-suite facilities in three of the four double bedrooms in addition to the large family bathroom. Our group consisting of two children aged almost two and four years, their mother, a couple in their mid- sixties and an eighty- year old, who found that the house provided something extra for everyone. The pool area is safe and child friendly offering a range of blow up and other toys, shade for the sun avoiders and an orchard to explore. The sitting room and other areas offer a wide range of interesting book to brouse within a decore that is comfortable, personal, tasteful and reflecting the personality of the owners including interesting pictures and personal effects. Particularly appreciated was the range of British programmes available on the TV to the extent of a choice of local regional news programmes! The kitchen is the best equipped that I have ever encountered in a holiday property including as wide a range of ingredients on a use and replace basis as one would have at home in addition to the ‘welcome pack’, so comprehensive we did not use everything provided.. There is a choice of three dining areas according to weather and ambiance in which to enjoy the fruits of fresh local produce prepared in a five- star kitchen. There is an enormous Lidl store with a much wider range than in the UK, a couple of miles towards the sea, which is a joy to shop in for those, who enjoy simple pleasures! The local village of Bedar is in close walking distance for those, who do not mind a hill and contains amongst other things an enormous range of good, reasonably priced restaurants, run by friendly owners enthusiastic about their cuisine, an excellent small but well-stocked supermarket with very reasonable prices and a bread shop, very friendly people, who seem happy to embrace the expats, who have taken up residence in their midst, which includes Stuart, a retired police sergeant, who offers a full ‘meet and greet’ service, pool and other maintenance support and is on the end of the phone for advice and guidance. All in all the best villa experience we have ever had and look forward to our return in October. Margaret Payne

20/03/2017

We have just spent 10 weeks in Mike's lovely villa. The beds were exceptionally comfortable and the kitchen very well appointed. The wood burner in the lounge was extremely efficient which was great for us as we spent our holiday here during the coldest and wettest winter that this part of Spain has had for 90 years. Having said that we only had about 6/7 days/nights of rain but one of those was SNOW and we got 4" of the stuff during January. Stuart and Natasha who look after the property for Mike are fantastic. We had a few problems with the heating and washing machine while we were at the villa and Stuart was there for us immediately, trying to sort things out as quickly as he could. Our only complaint about the villa was the radiator central heating, which did not have a remote controller and had to be manually turned off and on (and also broke down 3 times) and let me tell you when it is -2 and snowing that is no fun. Mike says he will be installing a new controller this year so hopefully whoever stays in the villa next winter will be warm and cosy. The views from the house over the mountains and down to the coast at Mojacar are truly stunning and the sunrise is absolutely amazing. I won't forget that sunrise in a long time. We founds some wonderful walks all around the area and we all had a great stay. Hopefully, if we come back to this area in a few years we can stay here again. All in all, we would thoroughly recommend this house for a lovely relaxing holiday. My Response Anne Thank you for your review. So glad you enjoyed your 10 week stay and found the villa so comfortable. Stuart and Natasha are the very best. Our top priority is always to ensure our guests have a trouble free and enjoyable holiday. If things go wrong Stuart deals with them and resolves the issues promptly. We will be happy to welcome you back at any time in the future. Regards Mike

07/11/2016

We’ve visited a number of times now – can’t get enough of it! We’re quite a large 3-generation family group – four oldies (including me), three in their thirties, and a couple of little ‘uns – so it’s important there’s plenty of space, and very good facilities. Mike’s Villa has them all in abundance. It very much has the feeling of a family home (albeit a large one). The rooms are furnished to a very high standard, beds are large and comfortable, the kitchen is well-equipped and there’s plenty of room inside and out for us all (including space to get away from each other, if we need to!). The gardens, orchard and pool are brilliant, of course – I don’t think the photographs quite do them justice. Unsuprisingly, we spent a large part of every day in and around the pool. And then there are the fabulous views to the mountains and the Mediterranean a few miles away, and varied local walks (easy or hard, as you wish). I could go on and on… It’s also very important to us to have a range of really good bars and restaurants in easy walking distance. (And there are numerous others just a short drive away.) There are also small shops and a bakery nearby. (It usually fell to me to get fresh bread, croissants and other delicious pastries every morning, which I never minded because the stroll into town is so pleasant.) That said, Mike’s Villa is sufficiently out of the town for there to be complete peace and quiet, which is also important to us. We can’t wait to come back! Maggie & Philip

09/09/2016

This was the 2nd time we have stayed at this villa. Comfortable living area, well equipped kitchen, 4 large bedrooms en suite and wonderful views from all the rooms and terraces! The outside space is fabulous. Plenty of room to relax and enjoy the stunning views of the mountains especially as the sun starts to go down. Great views over to Mojacar and the coast and in the evening the lights of Bedar look lovely. You won’t fail to enjoy a dip in the good sized pool and at night the children will love the coloured lights in the pool. It’s within a short walk to Bedar, a typically Spanish village which has 4 restaurants, 2 small supermarkets, a bank and a chemist and you will love walking there in the warmth of the evening to enjoy the great food on offer. Not far from the main road to Mojacar and nearby towns but far enough to make you feel like you've got away from it all and can relax and enjoy the peace and quiet. Joan and Frank Bannister & family

05/07/2016

The view from this lovely villa is truly breathtaking, to sit on the terrace or by the gorgeous pool with such a panorama is a really special experience. The villa is really well equipped and the bedrooms really comfy. Its a short picturesque walk to the village where there are 4 bars/restaurants, a bakery, chemists and tabac and bank. Its a lovely quaint friendly village. Its only about 30 mins by car to amazing Mojacar and the beach. Thanks Mike for the opportunity to relax in such beautiful surroundings. Linda Lynoltis